Cuyahoga County

Criminal Justice Links

The State Court System

  • Ohio Supreme Court -- The court of last resort in Ohio. Most of its cases are appeals from the 12 district courts of appeals. The Supreme Court also has appellate jurisdiction in cases involving questions arising under the Ohio or United States Constitutions. The Supreme Court hears all cases in which the death penalty has been imposed.
  • 8th District Ohio Court of Appeals -- Reviews cases from Common Pleas and Municipal Courts in Cuyahoga County.
  • Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Courts – The General Division hears all felony criminal cases as well as civil cases where damages might exceed $15,000.
  • Cuyahoga County Juvenile Court -- Has jurisdiction over many juvenile-related matters, including delinquency, unruly and traffic charges, dependency, abuse and neglect allegations, and certain custody, visitation and child support matters.

Municipal Courts

Municipal courts hear traffic and misdemeanor cases and civil cases for damages less than $15,000. There are 13 municipal courts in Cuyahoga County:   

  • Cleveland (also serves Bratenahl)
  • Bedford (also serves Bedford Heights, Bentleyville, Chagrin Falls, Chagrin Falls Township, Glenwillow, Highland Hills, Moreland Hills, North Randall, Oakwood, Orange, Solon, Warrensville Heights and Woodmere)
  • Berea (also serves Brook Park, Middleburg Heights, Olmsted Falls, Olmsted Township and Strongsville)
  • Cleveland Heights    
  • East Cleveland            
  • Euclid          
  • Garfield Heights (also serves Brecksville, Cuyahoga Heights, Independence, Maple Heights, Newburgh Heights, Valley View and Walton Hills)
  • Lakewood
  • Lyndhurst (also serves Gates Mills, Highland Heights, Mayfield Heights, Mayfield Village and Richmond Heights)          
  • Parma (also serves Broadview Heights, Brooklyn, Brooklyn Heights, Linndale, North Royalton, Parma Heights and Seven Hills)          
  • Rocky River (also serves Bay Village, Fairview Park, North Olmsted and Westlake) Shaker Heights (also serves Beachwood, Hunting Valley, Pepper Pike and University Heights)     
  • Shaker Heights (also serves Beachwood, Hunting Valley, Pepper Pike, and University Heights)     
  • South Euclid

Local Law Enforcement Agencies 

   The Cuyahoga County Sheriff’s Office
   The Cuyahoga County Medical Examiner’s Office

The first place to report a crime is your local police department:

  Bay Village   Beachwood   Bedford
  Bedford Heights   Bentleyville   Berea
  Bratenahl   Brecksville   Broadview Heights
  Brook Park   Brooklyn   Brooklyn Heights
  Chagrin Falls   Cleveland   Cleveland Heights
  Cuyahoga Heights   East Cleveland   Euclid
  Fairview Park   Garfield Heights   Gates Mills
  Glenwillow   Highland Heights   Highland Hills
  Hunting Valley (440) 423-4456   Independence   Lakewood
  Linndale (216)251-6038   Lyndhurst   Maple Heights
  Mayfield Heights   Mayfield Village   Middleburg Heights
  Moreland Hills   Newburgh Heights   North Olmsted
  North Randall   North Royalton   Oakwood Village
  Olmsted Falls   Olmsted Township   Orange Village
  Parma   Parma Heights   Pepper Pike
  Richmond Heights   Rocky River   Seven Hills
  Shaker Heights   Solon   South Euclid
  Strongsville   University Heights   Valley View
  Warrensville Heights   Walton Hills   Westlake

Other Key Partners: 

   U.S. Attorney’s Office - Northern District of Ohio
   FBI – Cleveland Field Office
   U.S. Marshals Service – Northern District of Ohio
   Ohio Attorney General – Cleveland Regional Office